Events

Folder Corporate & Policy experiences related to quantification, mitigation & reporting of methane emissions: Lessons for the future

With the support of the European Commission and the Florence School of Regulation 

We are delighted to invite you to a seminar on methane emissions from the gas value chain on the 22nd of February from 14:30 to 18:30 (CET)/ From 7:30 to 11:30 (CT).

This session will enable you to learn more about the latest policies and regulations, the state of science and the corporate experiences to manage and reduce methane emissions outside Europe as well as the role the gas infrastructure sector can keep playing in the long-term.

Please find below the Agenda.

Practical information:

  • The connection details will be sent to you in due time.    
  • When registered, please take note that this event will be held under Chatham House rule.
  • Our capacity for this event is limited. Registration is on a first-come-first-serve basis. 

We look forward to digitally welcoming you to this knowledge-sharing session! In case of questions, please send us an email at gabrielle.lelievre@gie.eu.


Agenda

14:30 CET /7.30 CT: Welcome remarks

  • Brendan Devlin | European Commission

14:35 CET/7.35 CT: Setting the scene

  • Anatol Fegyin | Cheniere Energy
  • Francisco de la Flor | GIE & MARCOGAZ Board member
  • Malcolm McDowell | European Commission

14.50 CET/7.50 CT: State of Science:
Monitoring, Reporting & Verification across the LNG value chain”
 – moderated by Fiji George, Cheniere Energy

  • David Allen | University of Texas
  • Steve Wofsy | Harvard University
  • Paul Balcombe | Queen Mary University of London
  • Q&A

15.35 CET/8.35 CT: Policy session:
Methane emissions policies in North America:
Lessons to be drawn for the EU – moderated by Scott Foster, UNECE

  • Paul Gunning | US EPA Climate Change Program
  • Timothy Taylor | Colorado Department of Public Health
  • Adriana López de Alba Gómez | ASEA (Mexico)
  • Jasmine Urisk | Canadian Energy Partnership for Environmental Innovation
  • Kate Konschnick | Duke University
  • Q&A

16.35 CET/9.35 CT: Coffee break

16.45 CET /9.45 CT: Corporate Experiences in monitoring, abatement and reporting – moderated by Mathew Goldberg, GIE and MARCOGAZ

  1. China Case Study
    • Han Jinli | Beijing Gas Group Company Limited
  2. Production/Gathering & Boosting / Gas Processing
    • Carrie Reese | Pioneer Natural Resources
    • Brian Newmarch | Seven Generations Energy
  3. Transmission
    • Mark Gebbia | Williams
    • Thomas Hutchins| Kinder Morgan
  4. Distribution
    • Greg Jones | Southern Gas Company
    • Lizzy Reinholt | Summit Utilities
    • Q&A

18.15 CET/11.15 CT: Conclusions

  • Andris Piebalgs | Florence School of Regulations (FSR)
  • Anatol Feygin | Cheniere
  • Francisco de la Flor | GIE & MARCOGAZ Board Member

To reach a net-zero future by 2050, the improvement of knowledge and minimization on methane emissions are critical levers to deliver the EU Green Deal’s objectives. In October of 2020, the European Commission released their EU strategy to reduce methane emissions. Their legislative proposals will follow this year. The role of natural gas in supporting this strategy will be critical as these molecules should be able to play a lasting role to ensure a fair but fast and sustainable transition.

Over the years, the gas industry has been fostering CH4 emissions management and mitigation. They joined forces through mandatory and voluntary programmes to develop numerous tools, technologies and best practice guidelines. Today, the gas industry remains committed to the decarbonisation of the economy.

During this seminar, experts will discuss the benefits of using Methane Matters and Corporate Experiences to quantify, mitigate, and report CH4 emissions. This event will offer the opportunity to learn about the policies on methane emissions in other jurisdictions. It will provide important discussions that will shed light on the science across the LNG value chain and will showcase concrete examples of how the gas industry is pursuing decarbonisation efforts by taking stronger steps to reduce methane emissions along the entire gas value chain.

Documents

Toggle Title Date
pdf Agenda ( pdf, 636 KB ) (67 downloads)
pdf CSR Seminar 22 Feb 2021 ( pdf, 258 KB ) (170 downloads) Popular
pdf Slides CH4 seminar ( pdf, 15.97 MB ) (279 downloads) Popular